Indian Visa Online Big Updates 2019

Additional tourists now are able to apply for an eVisa and do not have to rely on Indian Missions to issue visas in their passports prior to travel. Check these latest update in 2019 about Indian eVisa to have a faster and easier application and travel process.

Indian Visa Big Updates 2019


EVisa categories

Beside 3 sub-categories like e-Tourist visa, e-Business visa, e-Medical visa, India has introduced two additional categories of e-visas, the e-Conference visa, and e-Medical Attendant visa

e-Medical Attendant visa

This category is for foreign nationals accompanying foreign nationals on a medical visa trip. e-Medical Attendant visa is for only two persons (attendant or blood relatives) of a person granted an e-Medical visa.

The date of arrival in India: Triple-entry is permitted -  60 days from the date of first entry into India. Medical Attendant Visas will have the same validity as the Medical Visa.


  • The medical reports on the basis of which the Medical Visa for the patient was granted.
  • Must furnish the complete details of the person coming on the e-Medical visa to whom the person will be an attendant in the application form.

Indian Visa Online Updates

e-Conference visa

This category is for foreign nationals attending government-sponsored conferences ( a conference/seminar/workshop organized by a Ministry or Department of the Government of India, State Governments or UT Administrators etc. and their subordinate/ attached organizations & PSUs).

The date of arrival in India: Single-entry is permitted - 30 days from the date of first entry into India.


Designate Ports

Entry Ports

Two more airports are added into the entry list - Bhubaneshwar and Portblair which made it become 28 designated Airports and 5 designated seaports in total.

28 designated Airports: Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bagdogra, Bengaluru, Bhubaneshwar, Calicut, Chennai, Chandigarh, Cochin, Coimbatore, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Madurai, Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Port Blair, Pune, Tiruchirappalli (Trichy), Trivandrum (Thiruvananthapuram), Varanasi, Vishakhapatnam.

5 designated Seaports: Chennai, Cochin, Goa (Mormugao), Mangalore, Mumbai

Exit Ports

The foreigner can exit from any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) in India.

The new visa categories plus new ports are currently available and the eVisa application site has been updated to reflect the change. The changes represent India’s efforts to expand the use of eVisa.


For any assistance, please call 24h professional support center below or send an email to expert@indianvisagov.in

- Hotline:

United States United States: +1 315 277 2299

United Kingdom United Kingdom: +44 161 298 3979

Australia Australia: +61 7 3102 3979

South Africa South Africa: +273 1 813 5274

Hong Kong Hong Kong: +852 8191 5898

Related News